top of page
Search
  • bgb1003

Get to Know Me

Updated: Feb 4, 2019


Hey everyone welcome to my blog! My name is Brendan Balara and I am the guy behind the posts. I am currently a junior studying at Slippery Rock University. Somehow I found my way across the state from northeastern Pennsylvania to SRU, but I am sure glad I did. I am studying Integrated Marketing while minoring in graphic design. In my time away from the class room I take pride in being involved in the Slippery Rock Community. I serve as the vice president of special events for IFC, philanthropy chair for Kappa Sigma, and treasurer for Slippery Rock's Men's club lacrosse team. I currently work for University Village as a marketing assistant.


I am enrolled in the class New Media Journalism because of my major in IMC. Although my major and career path most likely will not steer me towards journalism there is still much to take away from this course. Social media is beginning to take over as a major source of news and journalism. I someday hope to work in a career where I am utilizing social media professionally. So, learning more about how to use social media more effectively and professionally in this state of new media.


I am almost always very active on my personal social media accounts. I enjoy being able to post and share content with my friends and family about myself or things that I am interested in. I do not use my Facebook as much as I once did. I feel as though that platform is on the decline. However, I often find myself much more active on Twitter and Instagram. A traditional source I like to follow to stay up to date on what is going on is The Washington Post. I feel as though they are a reliable outlet that can be trusted for the news that you need. New Media has transformed the way news is delivered and has helped to launch several new outlets. One outlet that I love to follow is Bleacher Report. Bleacher Report covers sports news in a way that is very unique using many different types of media to cover sports in a compelling and unique way.


Feel free to follow my blog to stay up to date on what's going on around Slippery Rock University!


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Web Biography Proposal

Dr John Rindy For my biography I am proposing to write about Dr John Rindy. Dr Rindy is the director of the Career Education and...

留言


bottom of page